News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

Mumbai becomes the first state to have 8 women police station in-charges

As the debate over the women empowerment continues, the city of dreams, Mumbai, takes one step in the direction. Giving the undue and long-awaited credits to the women, the state becomes the first of the country to have as many as 8 women only police station in-charges.

The city police of Maharashtra is seen enthusiastic about the ladies heading their respective police stations and they expect that soon the number of stations led by women officers will be more.

Taking to Twitter, Mumbai Police wrote, “Eight women police station in-charges a first in any city in the country, protecting the good and destroying the evil, with a smile each day.”

The names of the eight women police station in-charges are–Alka Mandave (Airport Police Station), Rashmi Jadhav (Cuffe Parade Police Station), Mrudula Lad (Sion Police Station), Lata Shirsat (Sahar Police Station), Jyotsna Rasam (Vanrai Police Station), Rohini Kale (Pantnagar Police Station), Vidhyalaxmi Hiremath (Aarey Police Station) and Kalpana Gadekar (BKC Police Station).

Rashmi Jadhav, in charge of Cuffe Parade Police Station said that being female in charge of a police station, will help women and it will be more comfortable for girls and women to come and report crimes against them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *