News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

Bihar Election Results: NDA has crossed the 122 seats -Mark in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. Nitish Kumar is set to be re-elected as the CM of Bihar.

By Ishank Katyal

National Democratic Alliance (NDA) of BJP has dominated the polls of the Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 by winning over 125 seats, thus hitting the majority mark of 122.

After 14 hours of counting, NDA has been declared as the winner at 2:57 am on Wednesday. According to the data of Election Commission, the BJP has won 72 seats to emerge as a senior member in its alliance with Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s JDU which is 42.

With the help of several rallies organized by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, NDA managed to hit the majority mark of 122.

Small parties like Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) of former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi has claimed 8 seats.

At 3:03 am, NDA was leading with 2 more seats in the majority and the Janta Dal (United) (JDU) in one.

Meanwhile, the opposition member Mahagathbandhan (MGB), lead by Tejashwi Yadav was giving a nail- biting competition to NDA but eventually failed to score the required numbers. However Yadav’s Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD) still managed to become the single- largest party- a fruit to the hard work of Tejashwi Yadav.

The Congress Party has suffered a huge loss as they contested 70 seats but only won 19 out of it.

Three remaining opposition parties claimed only 16 seats.

Just before the election results were announced, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah tweeted and thanked people for supporting “NDA’s development agenda”. In his tweet, PM Modi also promised people of Bihar that “NDA will work for the development of every person and every region of the state. “

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.