News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

Hema Malini – Happiness is a state of mind: Birthday Special

Hema Malini was born on 16th October 1948 to an Indian Tamil Hindu Iyengar family to her mother Jaya Lakshmi Chakravarti, a film producer, and father VSR Chakravarti.

Malini attended the Mahila Sabha in Chennai where her favourite subject was history. Malini studied at DTEA Mandir Marg, and in 11th Standard, she left to begin her acting career.

In 1962, she made her acting debut in the Tamil film Ithu Sathiyam. Malini first acted in the main role in Sapno ka Saudagar (1968) and went on to feature in numerous Bollywood films, primarily as the lead actress. In most of her films, she starred opposite Dharmendra, Rajesh Khanna and Dev Anand.

During her career, Hema had been nominated 11 times at Filmfare awards for best actress in lead role and finally win it in 1973. In 2000, Malini won the Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award and also the Padma Shri, the fourth-highest civilian honour awarded by the Government of India.

During her acting career since 1962 Hema portrayed so many magnificent roles, few of her best films include Seeta aur Geeta, Lal Patthar, Trishul, Pratigya, Meera, Prem Nagar, Mehbooba, Sholay, Satte Pe Satta, Jamai Raja, Kranti, Sitapur Ki Geeta, Baghban, Laga Chunari me Daag, and Veer-Zara.

Hema Malini fell in love with Dharmendra during the 1970’s and they both tied knot in 1980. The couple has two beautiful daughters Esha Deol and Ahana Deol.

Hema entry to politics –

In 1999, Malini campaigned for the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate and in February 2004, Malini officially joined the BJP. From 2003 to 2009, she served as an MP to the upper house – the Rajya Sabha, having been nominated by the then President of India, Dr A.P.J. Abdul Kalam.

In March 2010, Malini was made general secretary of the BJP, and on February 2011, she was recommended by Ananth Kumar, the party general secretary. In the 2014 general elections for the Lok Sabha, Malini defeated the Mathura incumbent, Jayant Chaudhary (RLD) by 3,30,743 votes. Malini was then elected to the Lok Sabha.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *