News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

Grandstage Victory! Bruised and heroic Team India Beats Australia to retain the Border Gavaskar Trophy.

Byline By- Vinayak Heliwal

Team India on Tuesday created grandstage history as they became the first team to beat Australia in their own fortress ‘Brisbane’ after 32 years in the series-deciding fourth and final match at Gabba by 3 wickets.

Rishabh Pant (89*)playing a magnificent innings finishes off the test match with a four to chase down the record 328 runs to seal the series by 2-1.

India becomes the first team to beat Australia at the Gabba since the West Indies in 1988. It is also India’s maiden win at the venue.

Australia who had lost their last match in 1988 at this venue were in shock on Day 5 as India chased down the target thanks to brilliant knocks from Shubhman Gill (91), Rishabh Pant (89*) and Cheteshwar Pujara (56).

This is now Team India’s highest successful run chase at the Gabba and third highest in Test cricket for India who registered their first win in Brisbane.

India retained the Border Gavaskar series for the second time in India after their 2-1 victory on their last tour in 2018-19. Rishabh Pant was declared the man of the match.

Though on the losing side, Pat Cummins was declared as Man of the series for scalping 21 Wickets in the four-match Test series.

Meanwhile, Cricket Fraternity, leaders and cricket lovers congratulated team India in their own styles.

India displaces Australia to become the new No.2 in the ICC Test Team Ranking.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.