News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

South Africa VS Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman’s Run Out in Last Over-Thriller Match Ignites Big Controversy.

Byline By- Vinayak Heliwal

Pakistan Opener Fakhar Zaman registered the highest -ever individual score in a One Day International by a batsman while chasing the target in the 2nd ODI against South Africa on Sunday.

Fakhar Zaman scored powerpack innings of 193 beating the previous best of 185 by Shane Watson while Chasing. Despite Fakhar Zaman’s heroics Pakistan failed to Chase down the mammoth 342 runs target set by South Africa as the visitors fell short by 17 runs.

Fakhar Zaman hit 10 sixes and 18 boundaries for his 155 ball 193 runs. Fakhar Zaman was on the verge of scripting a miraculous chase for his side despite wickets falling all around him, but a superb deception act from opposition wicketkeeper Quinton De Kock failed his plans and assured South Africa’s victory.

The incident happened on the first ball of the 50th over when Pakistan required 31 runs to win in six balls and Fakhar had a chance to complete his double century, his second in the One-Day Internationals, but it couldn’t be fulfilled.

Fakhar, who hit the ball towards the cover boundary, was trying to complete his second but was undone by a direct hit from deep by Aiden Makram.

Zaman was comfortably positioned to complete the second run but he mistook the throw to be going to the other end before seeing the stumps disturbed by the direct hit.

Notably, replays showed it was South African Wicketkeeper Quinton De Kock who tricked Fakhar Zaman into believing that the throw was going to the non-striker’s end.

While Zaman was still in the process of completing the second run, De Kock raised his hand and signaled towards the non-striker’s end.

It was a comical moment in the match but Was this run-out against the International Cricket Council’ Fair Play Laws? , the question remains debated and ICC needs to think about it.

While many suggested that De Kock might be reprimanded for fake fielding, many appreciated the deception act by the wicketkeeper-batsman.

Meanwhile, the runout ensured South Africa’s win against Pakistan by 17 runs. With the win South Africa leveled the series 1-1 with Pakistan and the deciding encounter will be played in Centurion on Wednesday, April 7.

If de Kock’s gesture was a deliberate misdirection, it would fall foul of the laws of the game, with the possibility of five penalty runs and the ball having to be re-bowled. Law 41.5.1 states that “it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball”.

Zaman, though, opted not to blame de Kock. “The fault was mine as I was too busy looking out for Haris Rauf at the other end as I felt he’d started a little late from his crease, so I thought he was in trouble. The rest is up to the match referee, but I don’t think it’s Quinton’s fault.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.