News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

Do You Know This Difference Between Terminus, Central, Junctions And Stations? Don’t Worry, We Have You Covered.

Trains have been the lifeline of India, and travelling in them is the most alluring and the most exquisite experience one can have. The journey of miles begins with the station on which the train will arrive. And while you are waiting for the magical journey to begin, the board says, “Agra Junction.” And upon reaching Kanpur, it says, “Kanpur Central”. The thought hit me hard and in a thirst for knowledge we did a research on the same, and come up with the answer.

The Indian railways have three different signs:
1) Terminus
2) Central and
3) Junctions

So, what’s the difference between the three? Here is the answer:


A station is called a terminus or terminal, when the tracks end. The trains can enter and leave only in one direction. Few important terminus includes:

Bandra Terminus (BDTS)
Cochin Harbour Terminus (CHTS)
Chatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST) and etc

A station is called a Central when it is the most important/busiest station out of multiple stations in the same city. A Central is usually very large and lots of trains pass through it daily. It’s not necessary to have a central station if there are more than one stations in the city. Probably these are the oldest centrals that are why they have retained their names. Primarily 5 Central stations exist in India.

Trivandrum Central (TVC)

Kanpur Central (CNB)

Mangalore Central (MAQ)

Mumbai Central (BCT)

Chennai Central (MAS).


A station is called a junction if there are at least 3 routes going out of that station. Trains coming in should have at least 2 routes to leave, then a station is called a junction.


And now you the secret, go and flaunt this knowledge to the one you know.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *