News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

Is South Africa threat for team India in T20 match ?

Edited By: Divya Thearia

28 September 2022 (New Delhi): India will look to finish their T20 World Cup preparations with a significant improvement in their death bowling, as well as provide crucial game time to their untested players in the three-match series against South Africa, which begins here on Wednesday. Following India’s series victory over Australia, Indian captain Rohit Sharma identified death bowling as an area that needs to be improved.

Mohammed Shami still recovering

The hosts will be missing two key bowlers, Hardik Pandya and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who have been rested ahead of the ICC event in a few months. Mohammed Shami, a World Cup reserve, is still recovering from Covind-19 and will miss the three games against the Proteas after missing the rubber match against Australia.

Both teams will play in the same group

Over the next week, India will face a team that has yet to be defeated at home in bilateral series. South Africa and India will play in the same group in Australia, and while the conditions are very different, both teams can identify areas to focus on in the next three games.

All eyes will be on Triston Stubbs

“The pitches in Australia will be different and ground size will be a lot bigger, but as a bowler there is always something you can work on. It’s a great opportunity to be bowling at these Indian batters and pick up on a few things and use against them in the World Cup,” said Tabrez Shamshi. All eyes will be on the young Tristian Stubbs, who has made the World Cup squad based on his performance in franchise cricket.


South Africa: Temba Bavuma (Captain), Quinton de knock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-Keeper), Dinesh Karthik (Wicket-Keeper), R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.