News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

Asia’s Biggest Cricket Rivalry On 28 August!

Edited by: Vikas Mavi

25 August, 2022 (New Delhi): The Asia Cup 2022 is about to begin, and the UAE will once again serve as the event’s host nation. For the top prize, the best Asian teams will be in a face off. Team India, under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, will compete as the defending champions.

Sri Lanka has won the Asia Cup five times, Pakistan has won it twice, and India has won it seven times. Despite appearing in the final three times, Bangladesh has never prevailed.

What is different in this edition

On August 28, a preliminary league match will take place at the Dubai International Stadium between India and Pakistan. If both teams advance, they will face one another again in the Super 4. If they win the Super 4, India and Pakistan will play in the championship game for the 3rd time. Indeed a mouthwatering prospect.

In the Asia Cup, India and Pakistan have faced off 14 times. India triumphed eight times, while Pakistan won five times, and one game had no conclusion.

A must watch contest

The rivalries between India and Pakistan are must-see events. The bouts are exciting and includes a lots of drama for the spectators. For the first time since the UAE T20 World Cup in 2021, both teams would be facing off. Pakistan humiliated India by taking 10 of their wickets in the 152-run chase. The upcoming match will be spiced up by the fact that both teams are loaded with talented T20 competitors.

Top performers on both the sides

Rohit Sharma has scored the most runs by an Indian batsman in ODIs (367). Virat Kohli does the same  with 206 runs in T20s. On the Pakistan’s side, Shoaib Malik has scored the most runs for Pakistan in ODI matches (428). Saeed Ajmal, a spinner, is responsible for the most dismissals (8). In their lone T20I match, Sarfaraz Ahmed (25) scored the most runs. Mohammad Amir, a left-arm fast, has claimed the most T20I victims (3).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *