News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

OMG ! Emma McKeon from Australia becomes the first female swimmer to win seven medals at a single olympics- Read to know more about her.

Australia’s 27-year-Old Swimmer Emma McKeon has become the first-ever female swimmer to win seven medals at single Olympics. At the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, Emma McKeon has won gold in the 50m freestyle, 100m freestyle, 4x100m freestyle, and 4×100 medley relay. She had also scored bronze in the 100m butterfly,4x200m freestyle, and 4x100m mixed medley.

Emma McKeon has now the most career medals for an Australian with 11, overtaking the record set by Ian Thorpe and Liesel Jones. McKeon has now overthrown East German Kristin Otto’s and American Natalie Coughlin’s six medal haul in 1952 and 2008 respectively. McKeon joins the elite list of Michael Phelps, Mark Spitz, and Matt Biondi as the only swimmers to grab seven medals during a single Olympics. For the unversed, she has also won four medals at the 2016 Olympics in Rio De Janeiro.

Who is Emma McKeon?

Emma McKeon is a competitive swimmer born in New South Wales, Australia. She is the sister of David McKeon and daughter of Ron McKeon, both of whom are also swimmers. She and her brother David McKeon are both trained by coach Michael Bohl at Griffith University.

Emma McKeon first competed internationally at the 2010 Summer Youth Olympics games held in Singapore where she won a gold medal in the girls 4×100 metre medley relay, silver medals in the 100-metre freestyle, and the mixed 4×100 metre freestyle relay, and bronze in the 50 metre freestyle, 200 metre freestyle and mixed 4×100 metre medley relay.

She missed out on selection for the London Olympics 2012 by failing to grab a top position in the qualifying competition. In April 2016, Emma McKeon made a strong comeback by being selected as part of the Australian Team for the 2016 Summer Olympics held in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil. At the 2016 Olympics, she led off the 4×100 metre freestyle relay that won a gold medal in a world record of 3: 30.65.

McKeon also went on to win a pair of silvers as a part of the 4×200 metre freestyle and 4×100 medley relays. She was one of the five Australian individual medalists in swimming in Rio who has won a bronze medal in the 200 metre freestyle with a time of 1:54.92. Emma McKeon has also won medals in the Commonwealth Games of 2014 and 2018 respectively and the swimmer is currently one of the most decorated sportsperson in the world.

NLC Congratulates Emma McKeon on becoming the first female swimmer to win 7 medals at a single Olympics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.