News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

Now the wait is over Congress declared Bhupesh Baghel as new Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh

On Sunday, Congress declared Bhupesh Baghel as new Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh. This decision was taken after the lengthy discussion between Congress president Rahul Gandhi and its officials. This is the third time Bhagel has won from the Patan seat in Chhattisgarh. Congress expelled Bjp in Chhattisgarh after 15 years by winning 68 out of 90s Seats.

Rahul Gandhi had the tough task of picking a name from four options-Bhupesh Baghel, TS Singh Deo, Tamradhwaj Sahu and Charan Das Mahant. All four had separately met Gandhi after the election results to present their candidature. In the end, the Congress’s central leadership chose Baghel name over the other three contenders.

Why Baghel is picked for Chhattisgarh CM Post:

2) Baghel led the party by taking  command on own hand and mounting an attack on bjp government on many issues such as corruption inside and outside the assembly.

3) Baghel wasn’t afraid by the litigation. When he was arrested in sex CD scandal and refused to apply for bail and stayed in judicial custody for a couple of days before being impressed upon by the Congress high command to come out on bail and focus upon the election campaigning.

4) Baghel belongs to the Kurmi community occupying 36% of Chhattisgarh population.which is enough for any party to win .

Political journey of Bhupesh Baghel

Bhupesh Baghel was born in a Farmer family on 23 August 1961. In early 80s Bhupesh Baghel started his political career by joining the India youth Congress. He was elected to Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly consecutively in 1993 and 1998 from Patan. Baghel was appointed the minister of state in Digvijay Singh’s cabinet . He was appointed Chairman of MP State Road Transport Corporation in January, 2000.

In November 2000 Chhattisgarh state was created and he became the member of Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly. He again became MLA in 2003 state election from the same seat. His party lost state government to BJP. He became Deputy Leader of Opposition in Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly from 2003 to 2008. He lost the Patan legislative assembly seat in 2008 election. He recaptured his traditional patan legislative assembly seat in the 2013 election. Now in 2018, he became the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.