News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

Gorakhpur Lok Sabha Bypoll 2018: Virat Kohli’s Name, Photo in Gorakhpur Voting List

As per the voter slip, Indian cricket team skipper Virat Kohli’s name has been registered under Sahajanwa Assembly segment in Gorakhpur where Lok Sabha bypoll is scheduled to be held on March 11.

The discrepancy is not limited till here as election officers, who are no more, have also been deployed on election duty. Counting of votes for Gorakhpur Lok Sabha bypoll  will be held on March 14  with Kohli’s voter number given as 822.

Gorakhpur bypolls were announced after Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath vacated the seat by resigning as Lok Sabha member in September last year following his election to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council. On March 11, Phulpur Lok Sabha seat will also go to polls. It was vacated by Uttar Pradesh Deputy Chief Minster Keshav Prasad Maurya.

The admission, complete with the skipper’s photo, has puzzled officials who ordered a probe.

Sub-Divisional Magistrate Pankaj Srivastava said an investigation has been launched into the mix-up.

According to the Election Commission, there 19.61 lakh voters in Phulpur parliamentary constituency, while there are 19.49 lakh voters in Gorakhpur parliamentary.

What is your opinion on this irresponsibility by the government of India, If you have something to share with us then do share with us in the below comment section

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *