News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

Women’s T20 Challenge Final: Trailblazers beat Supernovas by 16 runs

Stay tuned for more updates!!!

Match 4 of 4 Final: Trailblazers beat Supernovas by 16 runs

Smriti Mandhana’s Trailblazers beat Supernovas by 16 runs in the final to lift its maiden Women’s T20 League in Sharjah.

Batting first Trailblazers was restricted to 118/8 despite Smriti Mandhana playing a captain’s knock of 68 from 49 balls. Mandhana’s effort was the only bright spot for the Trailblazers in what turned out to be an ordinary batting effort as they collapsed from 71 for no loss in 11 overs to 118/3 in 20 overs. Radha Yadav was the top performer from Supernovas claiming the maiden five-wicket haul (5/16) in the short history of the competition to deny the final flourish to Trailblazers innings.

Chasing an under-par total, Supernovas remained in the hunt while captain Harmanpreet Kaur (30) and Shashikala Siriwardene (19) were at the crease but they lost 4 for 28 in the last six overs to eventually finish on 102. Salma Khatun picked up two crucial wickets including Harmanpreet in the 19th over of the chase with Supernovas needed 28 to win off the last two to seal the deal for Trailblazers.

With the win Trailblazers clinched their maiden Women’s T20 title and ended Supernovas hopes of completing a hat-trick of titles.

Final Points Table after Group Stage Matches

Match 3 of 4: Supernovas defeat Trailblazers by 2 runs.

Supernovas has made their way to finals as they beat Trailblazers by 2 runs at Sharjah Cricket Stadium. Trailblazers were doing great while chasing the target of 147 runs set by the Supernova until captain Smriti Mandhana- 33(40) was out in the middle of the innings.

Even the 50 run partnership of Deepti Sharma- 43*(40) and Harleen Deol- 27(15) couldn’t save the match for the Trailblazers. With the brilliant overs by Radha Yadav who defended the 10 runs helped Supernovas to make their way to the finals.

Supernovas have scored 146 runs with 6 wickets loss and Trailblazers has scored 144 runs with 5 wickets loss.

Match 2 of 4: Trailblazers defeats Velocity by Nine Wickets

Ecclestone’s four wickets help Trailblazers beat Velocity by Nine Wickets at Sharjah Cricket Stadium in Sharjah.

Batting first Velocity was bowled out for just 47 runs in 15.1 overs. Velocity’s whole team failed to rise on the occasion and to score a decent total. Sophie Ecclestone showed her class by picking up 4 crucial wickets in regular intervals to bowl out the Velocity team.

Chasing a paltry target of 48 runs Trailblazer lost its captain Smriti Mandhana early. But Dottin continuing his aggressive intent squash the Velocity bowlers also by with Richa Ghosh to finish off the chase with a bang.

Match 1 of 4: Velocity defeats Supernovas by 5 Wickets.

Sushma Verma, Suue Luus Shine as Velocity toppled defending champions Supernovas by five wickets in the opening match of the Women’s T20 Challenge at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium in Sharjah.

Batting first Supernovas scored a below-par total of 126/8 in 20 Overs as Ekta Bisht displayed a stunning bowling performance, registering figures of 3/22. Athapaththu and Harmanpreet Kaur were the top scorers for supernovas by scoring 44 and 31 runs respectively. However, the rest of the team failed to put a solid batting performance.

Chasing the target Mithali Raj-led Velocity had a deplorable start as both the openers Shafali Verma and Danielle Wyatt fell early, but Sushma Verma and Suue Luus showed maturity with a brilliant 51 runs partnership to ensure Velocity finish off the game easily.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.