News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

Bihar Election 2020 Results: An hour into counting, Grand Alliance leading over NDA, early trends show.

Byline by- Vinayak Heliwal

Counting of votes in the three-phased Bihar Assembly election has started and will decide the fate of 3,755 candidates spread across 243 constituencies.

Early trends based on the counting of postal ballots that began at 8 am on Tuesday kept Tejashwi Yadav-led Mahagathbandhan ahead of NDA-JD(U) alliance.

In very early trends, according to counting data provided by C Voter, the Rashtriya Janata Dal-led alliance is leading in 119 Bihar assembly seats as against the NDA which is ahead in about 92 seats at 9 am. There will be many more rounds of counting of votes in the bitterly fought elections to the 243-member assembly.

Tejashwi Prasad Yadav was way ahead in very early trends as postal ballots were being counted, according to counting data provided by C Voter. Also, HAM founder Jitan Ram Manjhi is leading from Imamganj and RJD’s Anant Kumar Singh is leading in Mokama.

Counting of votes is underway amid strict Covid-19 measures across 243 assembly constituencies. According to the Bihar State Election Commission, three counting centers each in East Champaran, Siwan, Begusarai and Gaya, and two each in Nalanda, Banka, Purnia, Bhagalpur, Darbhanga, Gopalganj, and Saharsa have been set up.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.