News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Results: Is Bihar ready for Young Tejashwi or Will Nitish get a fourth term

Byline by- Vinayak Heliwal

The Bihar Assembly elections 2020 Results are going to be announced tomorrow after the successful conclusion of the three-phase Bihar election.

For the last 12 days, quite seven crore voters brave the threat of the coronavirus pandemic to decide the fate of thousands of candidates vying for 243 seats in the Bihar Assembly.

If exit polls result hold true then Bihar is all set to see a change after 15 years as most exit polls have given an edge to the Grant Alliance or Mahagathbandhan led by Tejashwi Yadav, comprising the Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD), the Congress, and the Left Parties. The exit polls have dampened the mood of CM Nitish Kumar’s ruling party Janta Dal-United (JDU) and its allied Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP).

Will Bihar get a new and hound chief minister in Tejashwi Prasad Yadav, or have the voters reposed their faith in incumbent Nitish Kumar who is eyeing his fourth and final term? Who will get the magic figure of 122 in the house of 243 will be known after the votes are counted tomorrow.

The three-phase Bihar election which was the first to be conducted amid the coronavirus disease outbreak has another first. This is the first election in three decades that held without RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav, who is languishing in a Ranchi jail following his conviction in multiple fodder scam cases, and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP,) chief Ram Vilas Paswan who died in October following a brief illness.

In this Assembly election, employment overshadowed development as the poll narrative changed from development agenda to jobs for unemployed youth. The parties were forced to lure youth because of the sheer number of young voters and their craving for education and employment opportunities. The RJD -led GA sets the ball rolling on this with a promise to provide 1 million jobs whereas the Bhartiya Janta Party, a part of NDA along with the ruling JDU was compelled to announce 1.9 million jobs for youth.

This Assembly election was unique in more than one way. The state witness participation of no less than four alliances and there were six chief ministerial candidates in the race. The NDA is an alliance of four parties — the BJP, the JD (U), Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular), and Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP). While the GA comprises RJD, the Congress, and Left parties.

The Progressive Democratic Alliance (PDA), an alliance of four parties, Jan Adhikar Party (JAP), Azad Samaj Party, the Bahujan Mukti Party (BMP), and the Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI). The Grand Democratic Secular Front (GDSF) of the Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP), the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Janwadi Party (Socialist) and Asaduddin Owaisi-led All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) also contested the polls.

The NDA and the GA have projected Kumar and Tejashwi as its CM candidate, respectively. Former Member of Parliament (MP) Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav of the JAP and former Union minister Upendra Kushwaha of the RLSP are the CM candidates of the PDA and the GDSF, respectively. Besides, Pushpam Priya of Plurals Party and Chirag have also projected themselves as the CM’s candidate in the multi-cornered assembly elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.