News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour


Byline by- Vinayak Heliwal

Cricket Australia has introduced three new rules Power Surge, X-Factor Player, and Bash Boost ahead of the tenth edition of Big Bash League, which is scheduled to start on December 10.BBL has unveiled these changes to drive the interest of fans through the course of the T20 Tournament.

Power Surge –The Power Surge will feature changes in the Power play rule. Powerplay at the start of the innings has been reduced to four overs. The batting side can take the remaining two overs at any given time from the 11th over of the innings onwards.

X-Factor –The teams will have the cushion to change their strategy at the 10th over a mark of the first innings and substitute in an X-factor player. This player, named either the 12th or 13th player on the team sheet can replace any player who is yet to bat or bowled no more than a single over.

Bash Boost – The Bash Boost is a bonus point which will be given midway through the second innings. The side that is chasing down the target will be awarded the bonus point if the chasing team score is above the equivalent 10 over the score of their opposition. However, if they are trailing then the fielding side will receive the point. Now a team can score four points every game as the points awarded for a win, in general, have been increased to three points from two previously.

“The introduction of these innovations is yet another reason why the KFC BBL season 10 is set up to be the most exciting in the League’s history. The Power Surge, X-Factor, and Bash Boost prioritize scoring, exciting cricket, introduce new strategic angles and ensure there’s always something to play for throughout the entire match,” Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s Head of Big Bash Leagues, said in an official release.

The evolution of the KFC BBL Playing Conditions follows a raft of star player signings across the league and the introduction of a third overseas player in a club’s playing XI.

A full schedule has been released for the upcoming season, with venues for the 21 matches to be played in December confirmed. The season will begin in Tasmania and ACT with the first match on December 10, with matches moving to Queensland and South Australia later in the month.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.