News Leak Centre

No Fear No Favour

IIFA Awards 2022: ‘Shershaah’ declared Best Film, Kriti Sanon and Vicky Kaushal are Best Actors

Picture Credit: Internet

June 4, 2022 (New Delhi): The three day festival culminated at the Etihad Arena at the Yas Bay waterfront on Yas Island in Abu Dhabi and celebrated the best Hindi films of the past two years. Vishnuvardhan won Best Film and Best Direction for ‘Sher Shah’ produced by Karan Johar.

Kabir Khan and Sanjay Puran Singh Chauhan won the award for ’83’, a film based on India’s 1983 Cricket World Cup victory.

Vicky was adjudged the best actor for his role as freedom fighter Udham Singh in ‘Sardar Udham’. In his address, Vicky thanked his family, actress wife Katrina Kaif, Shoojit Sircar and producer Ronnie Lahiri. The actor dedicated his first Best Actor award to the late Irrfan Khan, who was the original choice for the character.

Picture Credit: Internet

The actor (34) said, “I want to thank all of them from the film, it is because of them that I am standing here. This is for all the bravehearts who have sacrificed their lives to make India independent.

He said, “This is my first Best Actor award and I want to dedicate it to an actor whom I have been a fan of and have respected throughout my life. We lost him very quickly – late Irrfan sahab was the original choice for the character of Sardar Udham.”

Actress Kriti Sanon won the Best Actress award for her performance in ‘Mimi’. Pankaj Tripathi won the Best Supporting Actor Award for Ludo.

When the actor came to receive the award, he was greeted with thunderous applause by fans, some of whom cheered him by addressing him as ‘Mirzapur’ character Kaleen Bhaiya.

Tripathi said with thunderous applause, “I don’t need to make any speech. You have already done it with this welcome.”

Kausar Munir won the Best Lyrics award for the song ‘Lehre Do’ from Kabir Khan’s film ’83’.

Picture Credit: Internet

Ahan Shetty won the Best Debut Actor Award for the film Tadap. The award was presented to him by his actor father Suniel Shetty. Actress Sharvari Wagh won the Best Debut Actress award for her film Bunty Aur Babli 2.

The award ceremony was hosted by Salman Khan, Riteish Deshmukh and Maniesh Paul and performed by Abhishek Bachchan, Tiger Shroff, Ananya Panday, Sara Ali Khan, Nora Fatehi among others.

The ceremony was also attended by actresses Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Tamannaah Bhatia, Lara Dutta, Bobby Deol, Nargis Fakhri, Urvashi Rautela, producer Boney Kapoor, Ramesh Taurani among others.

By line: Divya Thearia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.