Major Setback: Saffronhood shrank from 71% in 2018 to 40% in 2019 on Indian Map.

Ever since Narendra Modi came to power his wave made BJP the largest party of India with Congress Mukt Bharat campaign. In 2014, BJP ruled over Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Goa, and Arunachal Pradesh – directly or with alliance partners. By September 2018, the only states BJP did not rule were Tamil Nadu (AIADMK), Kerala (LDF), Karnataka (Congress), Mizoram (Congress), Punjab (Congress), Odisha (BJD), West Bengal (Trinamool Congress) and Telangana (TRS).

From seven states in 2014 to 21 states in 2018 can be called as the golden era for BJP. They ruled more than 70 percent of India and now the graph has been pitched to 40 percent region which can be called a major setback for BJP. Currently, BJP is in power in 17 states which is not a bad stat but the 4 states that BJP lost during the last one year covers 30 percent geographical region of our country. The states include Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Maharashtra.

Four states in which BJP lost election have a collective population of 30 crore people approx. This means in the last four years the majority of people in these states have lost faith in BJP. Maharashtra setback is a major one where they formed the government and within the very short span of time they lost power and now will act as opposition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *