Love sweets? This video about how gelatin is made will probably put you off eating sweets forever.

If you look at the ingredients on a package of Gello-bar or Just jelly, you’ll see expected things like corn or brown rice syrup and sugar. But you’ll also see something called gelatin. Seems innocent enough, we all use it right, Gelatin is a yellowish, odorless, and nearly tasteless substance that is made by prolonged boiling of skin, cartilage, and bones from animals. It’s made primarily from the stuff meat industries have left over — we’re talking about pork skins, horns, and cattle bones. Now i’m feeling dizzy, did you to?

I guess if you’re into the philosophy of using the whole animal, you’ll be psyched about this. Plus gelatin contains 18 amino acids, so it does offer some nutritional benefits. But if you’re vegan, you’ll definitely want to skip the chewy candies and should never took just jelly chocolates in your friends pocket — it’s made with gelatin, too. This animal-derived ingredient can also be found in some vitamins and medications, marshmallows (some are vegans though!), cheeses, yogurts, soups, salad dressings, jams and jellies, fruit snacks, and canned hams. So, next time please pay closer attention to these products’ food labels.

And if you are still not convinced enough, here’s a video proof for you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *